Wedding

No post on Sundays, or is there?

I think Sunday’s are going to end up being the day where I post to this contraption. Coincidental I know, as we all know the best thing about Sunday is that there is no post! But when you’re planning a wedding every day is Monday which means that every day sucks. I say that in all honesty because there’s not a single part of wedding planning so far that hasn’t been absolutely stressful and draining. I just keep telling myself that at the end of it all I get to marry my best friend and that’s all that matters.

So here’s a few things I have been up to since my last post.

 

1. I’ve pushed wedding planning apps aside.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love them. The Knot and Wedding Wire are absolutely wonderful and I’ve found a lot of decent vendors through them. Not to mention, both of the apps offer a budget planner and manager which is awesome for my frugal self. I swear by them so if you don’t have them, then please download them and indulge. With The Knot you also have access to a wedding planner via chat, which lemme tell you, you will need eventually. And it’s super easy to contact vendors through both apps. However, I am trying my damndest to keep my wedding as low budget as possible and in order to do that I have to keep it close to home. There were a lot of venues I found through google and basic web searching that do not show up on either app. They are also not well known venues by any means so I don’t hold the applications responsible but I do wish there was a way to pull up any and all available venues in my area via the app, because I would much rather do it that way. By doing this I have found two gorgeous venues that I’ve set showings up at that I will be attending in the next few weeks.

 

2. I have gone on a venue tour.

Now this is super important to do the second you find a venue you like and fits into your budget. Set up a tour! Just because you’re setting up a tour doesn’t mean you’re committing to holding your wedding there. You’re simply going in person to see it, to envision yourself there with your friends and family, which unfortunately you can’t do just by looking at photos. My fiancé Devon, our best man and his brother (I referred to him as our wedding coordinator) all attended the appointment with me. I would greatly urge anyone and everyone to bring multiple people with them! Find someone who is overly practical and blunt to keep you in check and point out realistic pros and cons with the venue. For us that was Ben (fill in wedding coordinator), when we discussed Dj’s and the price of them he simply asked why we didn’t just make a playlist and have someone control the music. When I pointed out we would have to rent musical equipment, Devon said that wasn’t the case as we have a system we could use and Ben offered to control the music for free. It sounds like a lovely idea but it also sounds like it’s too much of a hassle for us and our situation, so we’re sticking with a DJ. But by going to see the venue we were able to discuss floor layout and possible placement of stations and seating. It was nice and helped me relax quite a bit.

 

3. I’ve locked down my budget and guest list.

I’ve poured over my guest list and made alterations and figured out the chunk of people that probably wouldn’t be able to make it to the wedding, and factored that into our budget. I just want to note that what I’ve done is brought my guest list to a nice even number of 130, even though my list is sitting at 136 and there’s a good chance that only 118 show up. It gives me a good realistic idea of what I could be paying and what venues won’t work for us. Everything I’ve calculated has been for 130 people. By doing this I have been able to narrow down vendors and figure out which ones are not within my range and which ones are, and all the areas where it’s acceptable to splurge!

 

4. I’ve picked out bridesmaids dresses.

I’m definitely that type of bride where I am going to pick the style and color dress for my brides maids, sorry ladies. It’s hard for us where we are doing a themed wedding to not have everyone matching and making sure we’re not giving anyone too much leeway so we don’t ruin the image. Now all that’s left to do is pick my bridal party and show them the dresses!

I know usually people do it opposite as to how I have but when your fiancé only wants 4 groomsmen and you’re particular about symmetry and have 7 ladies expecting to be in your bridal party, it makes things difficult. Which is part of the reason why I am so undeniably stressed out. If there is anything I can say to bridesmaids and friends out there, do not hold your friend to the fire if they don’t choose you to be in their wedding party. It’s not that we don’t love you, we do I promise, but I’ll explain my struggle in another post. This ones already long enough.

I’d just figured I’d share what I’ve been up to since my last post. And To everyone else struggling with their planning, I feel you, but you’ve got this.

Cheers and plan on!

Leave a Reply

